VTU convocation held in absence of prominent guests

Belagavi: The 19th annual convocation of Visvesvaraya Technological University (VTU), one of the biggest technological universities of the country, held in Belagavi on Saturday, sans prominent guests.

The students pass through such a reputed university and get a rank; it becomes their dream to get medals from the governor or personalities of high profile. However, in today’s convocation, there was no governor or higher education minister, who are the chancellor and pro-chancellor of the university respectively.

EvenK Sivan, Secretary, Department of Space and Chairman, Space Commission, who was selected for honourary doctorate degree ‘Doctor of Science’ of the university also was absent. The honourary degree was conferred on him in his absence. 

Prof. K K Aggarwal, Chairman, National Board of Accreditation (NBA), New Delhi, was the only guest attended the convocation. Prof. Aggarwal and vice-chancellor Prof. Karisiddappa bestowed gold medals to the rank holders.

Mahima Rao, student of Civil Engineering in St. Joseph Engineering College, Mangaluru,  bagged highest 13 gold medals, while Sanmati Patil, Mechanical Engineering student of Mangaluru Institute of Technology, Moodabidri stood runner-up by availing 11 medals.

Visits: 197

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You cannot copy content of this page